Recipes

Broccoli Chicken Pasta Casserole (Low Fat)

I found this recipe in one of my many Low Fat cook books and thought I would give it a try. I will have to say that I was impressed with the over all dish. Many of you probably know when cooking low fat you should use a lot of spices to give the food  flavor. This particular casserole has a lot of flavor and is easy to make too.

So, follow me to my kitchen, and let’s begin making this dish!

Let’s grab the ingredients we need first:

2 teaspoons Crisco Oil

2/3 cup chopped onion

2 large cloves garlic, minced

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut into 1-inch pieces

2 cans (141/2 ounces each) whole tomatoes, undrained and coarsely chopped

1 can (8 ounces) tomato sauce

1/4 cup of ketchup

1 1/4 teaspoons dried basil leaves

3/4 teaspoons dried  oregano leaves

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 package (10 ounces) frozen broccoli cuts, thawed and well drained

5 ounces uncooked small  macaroni, cooked and well drain

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese, divided

Now, let’s put the dish together:

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Heat Crisco Oil in a large skillet on medium-high heat. Add the onion and garlic. Cook and stir until tender. Add the chicken. Cook and stir until  the chicken is no longer pink. Stir in tomatoes, tomato sauce, ketchup, basil, oregano and salt. Bring to a boil. Next, reduce the heat to low. Then simmer for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Combine broccoli, macaroni, chicken mixture and 1/4 cup cheese in a bowl. Make sure to stir well. Spoon mixture into a 13x9x2- inch baking dish. Last, sprinkle remaining 1/4 cup cheese. Bake for about 20 minutes.

I hope that you had fun cooking with me today! See yall next time! Sharon