Discussion · Quilting · Sewing

Homemade Oven Mitts

IMG_0679

 

Hello there my favorite peeps! I joined Crafty Gemini’s Crafters on Facebook the other day and found a tutorial for oven mitts. After watching the tutorial I decided to give it a try. As I began quilting the oven mitt I had issues with the fabric puckering and decided to start over. So I made a quilt sandwich and did not have any issues with the fabric puckering. I did make some changes myself such as, making a quilt sandwich, added 100% cotton batting between the two pieces of fabric. I placed the  oven mitt pattern on top of the quilted sandwich and cut the pattern out. Added some bias tape at the bottom of the oven mitt. These oven mitts are easy peasy to make and excellent for a gift too.

Feel free to leave a comment or share any ideas.

Until next time,

Happy Crafting!

Sharon

 

6 thoughts on “Homemade Oven Mitts

  1. I made some a year ago as gifts. I used 2 layers of cotton batting and a layer of INSULBRIGHT. It is a heat reflective product and may save you from getting a burn thru the cotton. It is available at most quilt shops and crafting stores (JoAnn Fabric, Hancock Fabric, Hobby Lobby etc). Recomend it strongly. Also recommend you don’t use any polyester products (batting or thread or fabric) as they are subject to melting on contact with heat. I wrote a few blog posts about my production line sewing “artful oven mitts” – – this is the first in a series of 3 or 4 blog posts. They certainly were fun to make. http://stitchinggrandma.wordpress.com/2013/12/07/production-line/

  2. I like your method. I’m a ‘quick turn’ gal for sure. I have not tried the insulbright that stichingrandma recommended in a really long time but I did not find it that insulating. My favorite filler for potholders is old towels. Very economical and really protects your fingers! cheers, CW

Leave a Reply

