Making a quick quilt for a child

4 Mar

IMG_0223

As most of you are aware I am a Guardian ad litem appointed by the court. My main job is to have a voice for the child and to make monthly visits too. The child that is on my case has a birthday this week and I decided that I would make a quilt. Knowing that I was short on time I decided to try a different method of quilting. So, I bought a panel for the front of the quilt, backing fabric to match the quilt, batting to place in between the two layers, embroidery thread to tie the quilt. All I did is layer the batting, quilt right front  (right side up), and the flannel back (right side down). Next, pinned together, matching the raw edges and making sure the corners were square. Then beginning in the middle of the bottom , I stitched around all the edges leaving  approximately 8″ opening for turning. Make sure next to clip the corners diagonally  and turn the quilt right side out through the opening. Push the corners out and then press the edges flat. I topstitch the opening, but you can slipstitch by hand. Topstitch 1/4″ from the outside edges. As you can see I did not add any binding to the quilt which saved time.

I machine quilted around the outlines of the printed design through all the layers to hold the batting in place. For a decorative option I used embroidery floss on each corner of the squares using a surgical knot. So there are ways to cut corners when you do not have a lot of time to spend making a quilt. I was pleased with how the quilt turned out.

Until next time, Happy quilting

Sharon

4 Responses to “Making a quick quilt for a child”

  1. Clever Blonde - Donna G March 4, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Looks cool. Well done. I have friends here who foster and another did what you do. Not many child advocates would make a gift like this. You are a beautiful person. So glad you found my blog you have added to my life.

    • sewinglady March 4, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

      Thank you Donna! I hope you have a great day. Getting ready to start a baby rag quilt.

  2. Sandy March 4, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    What a cute quilt! Looks like the embroidery thread works well. I love all the bright colors. I’m sure the little girl is going to like the quilt you’ve made especially for her!

    • sewinglady March 4, 2013 at 9:06 pm #

      Thank you sister Sandy! I think she will like it. This is the first quilt that I have used embroidery thread to tie the quilt with. Getting ready to make a baby rag quilt for Brook’s baby. Put the design together yesterday and need to cut out 64 4″ square batting to place in between the squares. Hope your day went well!

Leave a Reply

