Quilting

Baby Rag Quilt

Good morning everyone! Hope your Thursday is off to a great start. Our family had a new arrival this week and her name is Brooklyn. I haven’t seen a picture yet but I am sure she is a beautiful baby. So, I have decided that I would make a baby rag quilt for Brooklyn.

I thought I would try something different  by cutting 1″ blocks to see what design might look the best..The size of the quilt will be 32″x32″ and made with 5″ squares. Now here is where the fun comes in! I am asking you to leave a comment and tell me which design is your favorite and why. It will be exciting to see which design wins.

Design # 2
Design # 1
23 thoughts on “Baby Rag Quilt

  1. Hi Sharon,

    I like them both but lean towards 1. I hope you don’t mind my geniune honesty… The way the number 3 square stands out is a bit off-putting and the 3 other whitish blocks. Is it possible to do the number 1 quilt with only yellow & pink shaded squares around the teddy squares in the middle. I really love the pink dotted fabrics around the outside of number 1 they link it all otgether, it has more variety and I like the teddies in the centre. The second one is good as well I just think the other would look better. It will be great when complete and a wonderful gift. I’m sure it will be much appreciated and treasured, Bye for now Donna G

    1. Hi Donna, Thanks so much for your advice. I like the idea of the yellow and pink squares around the bears in the middle. After taking pictures I noticed the # 3 square standing out too. It will be interesting to see how it turns out.
      Thanks,
      Sharon

  2. I like design #2, but the dark, dark framing, to me, is overpowering. How about using a solid pink or white frame? I love the darling dots, and bear fabrics. Whatever you decide will be just right though, because you made it from your heart.
    Jeanie

    1. Thank you for voting Jeannie! Excellent idea using solid pink or white for the framing. Love the ideas that people are coming up with. I’m still not the best with color.
      Thanks,
      Sharon

  3. Thank you Donna for your advice. Once I took the picture of the two designs, I realized the 3 was sticking out and looked a little out of place. Yellow and pink sounds like it would work too.
    Take care,
    Sharon

  4. Hi Sandra,
    I did design # 2 and it came out really well. I am going to post the pictures on Monday. I’m waiting for Steph to get her quilt first. Steve and Karen loved the quilt mother said.When you have your baby I’ll make you a quilt! LOL

Leave a Reply

