Quilted Placemats

18 Aug

Hey ya’ll! I hope that everyone is having a great week so far and we are close to the weekend again. “My” “where does the time go”! This week I spent some time cutting out 140 squares for placemats and so glad that is over! I believe the cutting is the worse part of quilting because you think that it is never going to end. However, once the fabric is all cut out then the fun begins! I’m sure there are short cuts to cutting fabric, so that is why I am taking a class regarding cutting fabric.

Now that I have cut all the squares, I am trying to figure out how I want to place the squares to make some sort of design. While trying to pick a design, I took different pictures to see what they actually would look like and finally decided on one. When taking the class I will also be taught how to draw a design on graph paper. Graphing your design really should be done first then it can be used as your road map. So I am looking forward to the class!!!!! When I finish the placemats I will post them.

Here is the lay out of the placemat.

2 Responses to “Quilted Placemats”

  1. Lynne August 19, 2011 at 10:37 am #

    I love the cutting process and the designing process. It’s basting that I find the hardest part of making a quilt.

    Good luck with your class – I hope you find it interesting and enjoyable!

  2. sewinglady August 19, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    Hi Lynne, I am really looking forward to the quilting class and hope that I will learn some new information. Had some fabric left and wasn’t sure what to do with it, so I thought I would try making quilted placemats. The class that I am taking is next Saturday and I will let you know how it goes. Have a good day!
    Sharon

Leave a Reply

