Recipes

Mexican Beef and Rice

Thought I would share one of my favorite recipes with you. I can’t remember where I found this recipe but I have been cooking it now for a long time. So before you go to the store you may want to add the ingredients to your list.

Ingredients:

1 teaspoon Olive Oil

1 Green Bell Pepper

1 White Onion

1 pound lean Ground Beef

1 can (16 ounces) Diced tomatoes, undrained

1 can (11 ounces) White Shoepeg Corn

1 can (15 ounces) Red Kidney Beans, drained

1/2 cup Rice

1/2 cup Water

add some Hot Pepper Sauce to taste

Directions:

In a large skillet over medium heat add oil. Add pepper and onions; cook until tender. Next, add ground beef to skillet  and cook until no longer pink. Add the remaining ingredients; stir. Bring to a boil. Then reduce heat and simmer for about  15 to 18 minutes. Enjoy!

Note: I use a rice cooker rather then add rice to skillet. Adding the rice to the skillet makes the rice really soft which I do not care for.

I hope that you enjoy this recipe!

Leave a Reply

