Sewing a Dish Soap Apron

8 Apr


I don’t know about you, but I am tired looking at this same old dish soap bottle. So, I started to think how could I add some character to this little old bottle. Well, I did my research online and came across a dish soap apron that I thought was cute. I chose to do a very basic apron to see how it was going to turn out first and I will have to say I am pleased with the outcome. So, I plan on making more with maybe lace and or adding Ric Rac to add a little more character. The neat aspect of the apron is to keep in mind it’s just like if you were to make one for yourself. The bottle apron is perfect for someone who is a beginner in sewing. Making the apron does not take a long time and is SIMLPE to make! When you click on the link above you will be able to print out the pattern for the apron. On the pattern it will say place on fold make sure to do that or your apron will not come out correctly. When you finish cutting out the apron you should have one piece of material. If you end up with two pieces of material then you did not cut on the fold.

All I did was turn the apron where the wrong side is facing up and sewed a 1/4 seam allowance. Then I turned the fabric to the right side and added the Bias Tape (Double Fold) and Ta Da! your done! Don’t forget you can add buttons if you wish. You also can add pockets too.

Back of apron

One Response to “Sewing a Dish Soap Apron”

  1. Clever Blonde - Donna G September 14, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Love this, I’m going to make one – one day. My to do list just keeps growing and growing. For every one I finish I add two or three more!!!

Leave a Reply

