Sewing Dresses

28 Jan

So, I thought you maybe wondering how I got into sewing.  When I was growing up, I used to sit with my grandmother and watch her sew, and of course looking back on it , she was very good when sewing clothes. My grandmother would give me scraps of fabric to sew and “boy did I have fun.”  I went around telling everyone that I knew how to sew “yeah right!” Well as the years past I did not care for sewing and lost interest and moved on to other things.

When leaving the workforce, I had extra time on my hands which was something I had never had before. So, I asked my husband “what do you think about me taking a sewing class?”  His response was “that is so not you!” I continued to think about it, and one day I happened to be in the public library and as I was going out the door, I saw a flyer on sewing and it caught my eye. So, I brought the flyer home, and called about the sewing class, and from that day forward I have been sewing. As you can see, you really don’t ever know what you might be doing. Who in the world ever dreamed I would be sewing and having a blog too. I am having so much fun and I would recommend that you do the same.

Here are two dresses that I completed when taking the sewing classes.  Simplicity is the pattern that I used to make the dresses.

Blue Jean Dress

Cotton Dress

Leave a Reply

