My Latest Learning Experience

17 Jan

Crochet dish cloths

While on a recent visit home, I mentioned to my mother that I would like to learn how to crochet. During our discussion, she told me that her neighbor knew how to crochet and was making a afghan for my mother. So I called her neighbor to see if she would teach me the basics of crocheting and, of course, she agreed to. When I went to the store for yarn and a crochet hook, I discovered that the hooks came in different sizes which, at the time, confused me. So I asked the sales clerk if she could help me pick out the correct crochet hook. The first thing she asked was, “What are you making?” and I stood there because I had no clue what I was going to make. I explained to her that I had someone who was going to teach me the basics of crocheting. So finally we decided on a crochet hook and yarn.

The following day the neighbor was teaching me the basics and in no time I discovered that it was fun and easy to do. I did a lot of research on the internet and found a lot of helpful information and videos. If you want to learn to crochet, I suggest that you do a lot of research online because there is so much information out there. Here are some links that I have used:

After Learning the basics of crocheting, I decided that I would adventure out and try making an afghan based on the instructions from the link above. The afghan will take longer to make because of the size, so this one requires a healthy dose of patience.

Here are two dish cloths that I completed. I love the colors and think they turned out very cute. The type of yarn I used was cotton and the brand name is Lilly Sugar ‘N Cream.

4 Responses to “My Latest Learning Experience”

  1. Sandy January 17, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    so how much would you charge to make some pot holders????
    I’ll send you the yarn……….

    • Sandy January 17, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

      love the dish cloths….especially Valentine one!

    • sewinglady January 17, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      If you just send the yarn I will make some for you at no charge sister Sandy. You need to buy medium worsted weight yarn and a size J crochet hook. I will need to use two strands of yarn in order to insure the potholder is thick enough so that you do not burn your fingers.
      We can do two different colors together or if you would like you can just use one color, but remember if you go with the one color I will need two of that same color.

  2. Clever Blonde - Donna G September 13, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    Lovely to discover you also crochet. I’m thinking I must give these cloths a go. Many people make them. Possibly another Christmas idea. Actually you could do a post linking back to all these fabulous things you’ve done as a Christmas gift ideas post, I learned to crochet in grade 3 at school. A mum came and volunteered to teach a small,group. I often think of her and wish I could thank her and it was a lifelong gift she gave. Bless you

Leave a Reply

