Half Square Triangle Tutorial

14 Oct

IMG_0450Wanna learn how to make half  square Triangles? Well I am going to show you how easy they are to make. I am making a star table topper  made with half square triangles. So I thought what a great opportunity to teach my favorite peeps how to make half square triangles. Ladies, fire up the sewing machines and lets get started!

Cut your squares. My pattern calls for 7 inch squares. Finished size is 6 inches. IMG_0438 Next, put right sides together and pin. IMG_0439 Draw a diagonal line corner to corner. You can use a pen or pencil because you will be drawing on the wrong side of the fabric. IMG_0440 Next, we are going to sew on each side of the line that was drawn.  I placed the quarter inch foot right on the line that was drawn. Then sew on each side of the line that was drawn. IMG_0441

Now your two lines sewn should look like the picture below.

IMG_0444

We are almost there!  Take your rotary cutter or scissors and cut on the line that was drawn which would be the middle line.

IMG_0445

Now you should have two triangles.

IMG_0446

Press open the seam.

IMG_0447

Cut off the ends sticking out.

IMG_0448

Its time to square up the square. My squares finished should be 6 inches.

IMG_0449

Press the square with the Iron. Ta Da you are finished!!!!!

IMG_0450

I hope everyone had fun with me today! So go sew some half triangle and make something.

Until next time, happy quilting

Sharon

2 Responses to “Half Square Triangle Tutorial”

  1. clairewitherspoon December 6, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Hi Sharon, Nice tutorial! I have not checked my wordpress account in awhile so if my comment is a little tardy please excuse me. I like the effect of the snow flakes going down your screen, Brings in the season’s cheer! Happy Holidays! Claire W.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 119 other followers

